Welcome to the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. The Department among the largest at UAMS and home to approximately 105 full-time faculty members, and training ranks that include 88 residents and 68 fellows in two residency programs and twelve fellowship programs. Department leadership structure consists of the Chair, Dr. James D. Marsh, a clinical and molecular cardiologist, an experienced educator, and leader. He has chaired the department since 2004. The Department has four vice chairs: Dr. Robert W. Bradsher, Vice Chair of Education; Dr. Stavros Manolagas, Vice Chair of Research, Dr. Michelle Krause, Vice-Chair of Clinical Operations, and Dr. Curt Hagedorn, Vice Chair and Chief of Medicine at CAVHS.  Organizationally, the Department is comprised of twelve academic divisions, each led by a division director who reports to the Chair. Each division also leads their respective services at the Central Arkansas Veterans Health Service facility, which is immediately adjacent to the University Hospital and connected by an enclosed sky bridge.  Read more.

James D. Marsh, MD, Nolan Professor and Chairman